h1

Layne Staley & Demri Parrott – The Greatest Love Story Never Told

May 24, 2009

 

Layne & Demri

Layne & Demri

 

 

 

I came across a great site that is hosted by a friend of Demri and Layne’s. It is a design site, but look at the home page or do a search for Demri. Here’s the link: Layne & Demri Posts

NE Readers know how we like to investigate the life and demise of Layne Staley. It is an important discovery that goes way beyond mere fanaticism. Staley was, among (many) other things, a very transparent person. This was the most unusual part of his personality. Most (all?) junk users thrive on misinformation and, frankly, lies. Layne avails us of an opportunity to see what his demons were and his reaction to them. He was crystal clear. So, regarding Demri, Layne’s choice of girlfriend was initially another means of seeing what was going on in his head. However, after reading the posts on the site (above) I became fascinated by Demri herself. She may have been the muse that allowed Layne to produce the most moving metal album of all time, DIRT. Her whimsical nature and quirks may be the key to his demise. They may, in fact, be the cause of his demise. Demri was his only warmth in a world that was so cold and full of terror to Layne. Her departure corresponds with his withdrawal into solitude. As I said before, I believe these fierce emotions drove Layne to belt out another two incredible songs. The last two new Alice in Chains songs before his death, “Get Born Again” and “Died”.

“Died” is clearly about Demri and her death. The song is again, transparent. Here are the lyrics:

_________________________________________________

I could climb until I reach where angels reside 
Ask around to find out where the junkies apply
You just up and left me on this rock all alone 
It’s my fault for knowing not what I should have known 

Ohhhhhhhh
My heart is dried up beating slow 
Ohhhhhh
It’s been just raining since you died 
Died 
Since you died 
You died 

I could drop until I touch the sinister side 
Visit all attractions flippin’ back and aside 
Still you leave me rotting on this rock all alone 
It’s my fault for knowing not what I should have known 

Ohhhhhhhh
My heart is dried up beating slow 
Ohhhhhh
It’s been just raining since you died 
Died 
Since you died 
You died 

Ohhhhhhh
My heart is tired of beating slow 
Ohhhhhh
It’s been just raining since you died 
Died 
Since you died 
You died 

I could climb until I reach where angels reside 
I could drop until I touch the sinister side 

Ohhhhhhhh
My heart is dried up beating slow 
Ohhhhh
It’s been just raining since you died 
Died 
Since you died 
You died 
Died 
You died 
Died 
You died 

__________________________________________________

  Says a lot doesn’t it?  Layne would climb to find out where angels reside.  Clearly he wanted to find Demri, an angel.  Then, “ask around to find out where the junkies apply”.  He clearly did not feel the same about himself.  He seemed to say he was not worth of her “angelic” qualities as he was a mere junkie.  It’s not hard to go through this and see how he felt during the end of his life.  

  Please visit the link above.  I hope to contact the site directly and get more information for NE Readers.  As always, your comments on this post and the Demri site, are always welcome.

-NE

19 comments

  1. You know demri was a junkie right?


  2. Well, I dont know if what I have heard is true or not, but I heard that chick was a total cunt to Layne. Cheated on him constantly and treated him like…Dirt. Heard this from a guy I knew once named Pete that was roadie for AIC years ago…


  3. I have always been so fascinated with Layne and Demri relationship. It reminds me of Romeo and Juliet, Layne was such an amazing and talented person. I think when Demri died a part of him died with her and I hope they both are in peace with each other and they don’t have to worry about their demons anymore. They lived a very hard life but, at the end they really touch so, many people with their love and his amazing voice that will never be forgot and is still touching new people….


  4. i love layne. Demri was beautiful. A book must b written


  5. tanks for telling this story! it’s true that rarely anyone knows about layne’s intensed and deep love to his gorgeous demri…


  6. http://www.rememberlayne.com/blog/ is now where everything is located… enjoy the website!!
    Sorry it took me so long to respond. I appreciate your help in spreading the word about these beautiful people and putting them in a positive light where they belong. Thank you!!


  7. The link in this post to Layne and Demri posts has been moved to it’s own website called http://www.rememberlayne.com/blog/
    I decided to move it so I could add more and people seemed to really enjoy my stories which makes me happy.

    Enjoy!
    Barbara Dearaujo
    Rememberlayne.com


  8. Sadly their relationship ended in 1993. They weren’t faithful to each other. From 94 to her death her addiction increased to the point were she was arrested in various counties for prostitution. She had a boyfriend when she died, who was also her dealer.


  9. I am so obsessed with Demri and Layne now. I always have been learning info on layne cause he is my favorite singer of all time, when he sings, you feel his pain. Its not made up BS. When i found out info on his girlfriend Demri I was taken aback of this beautiful women who lived such a short life. I find myself wanting to know more about her and Layne. Its such a Tragedy what happen to them. Its hard to believe their is so little info in demri. Its no telling what kind of life she would have led today if circumstances were different. The photos of Demri and Layne are so magnetizing. You can see how much the loved one another. I would love to see more pics and info on Demri and layne.


  10. Oh, and one more thing, for Demri, Cocteau Twins, “Pandora”……


    • Demri LOVED the Cocteau Twins! She turned me on to them and I adore their music.. it still brings tears to my eyes when I listen to them.

      Barbara


  11. I think she was much more to him than people realize. The lyrics of this song and others on Mad Season, to me, say a lot…


  12. Any more info on Demri would be appreciated. New pics, new stories. She was such an interesting woman, I can see why Layne liked her so much.


  13. I knew both Layne and Demri – I’m writing a book about my personal experiences in the 90′s “grunge” scene, including early Alice In Chains days.


    • @Amber hey thats really cool that you knew layne and demri, please email me (alice._in._chains@hotmail.com) if you read this


    • Great!!!! I want to read it!


  14. Wow.. I spelled my own name wrong…

    Barbara Dearaujo


  15. Thank you so much for mentioning my website. Please visit the site I put together dedicated to just them at http://www.divageekdesigns.com/demri/
    Your welcome to contact me if you have questions or you’d like to post something on the website. That goes to anyone.

    ~Dreamy

    Barbara Dearauko


    • Barbara,

      Your work on the site and the memory of your friends is moving. Fans of the site have asked for more about Demri and Layne. Can we talk about a few ideas I have to deepen your efforts and my own exploration into two lives whose beauty and mystery suggest a connection with a different plane.

      I look forward to your response. Reply to this post or email me @ IAmNakedEric@gmail.com

      -NE



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

